new

old

write me

d*land

recent experiments:

shock and awe indeed. - 2:26 PM , Friday, Sept. 02, 2005

I grow old, but I prefer my trousers unrolled. - 9:30 AM , Monday, Aug. 22, 2005

it's all about the iPod - 10:00 AM , Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005

uncountable in showers of crimson rubies - 4:43 PM , Monday, Jul. 18, 2005

and I know it aches, and your heart it breaks... - 1:12 PM , Friday, Jul. 08, 2005

if you're this close, introduce yourself.

or, leave me a note.

and I know it aches, and your heart it breaks...

Friday, Jul. 08, 2005 ... 1:12 PM

Now Playing:


*~*

If you're like me, you can only listen to bad news for so long and then you need to switch gears for a while. About mid-afternoon yesterday, I turned off the radio and put my iTunes library on shuffle.

If you need something cathartic to sing at the top of your lungs, I recommend "Walk On," by U2. Which is kind of funny because thinking back almost 20 years, I probably would have recommended "Seconds," by U2.

I wonder how many people in London are right now feeling the same bewilderment that so many people here felt after 9/11. I know that as responsible citizens, it's our duty to know and understand our relationships with other countries of the world. So on some level, we all have the potential to understand what led to it. But we also have a duty as citizens and humans to feed our kids and take them to the playground, and smell flowers we pass by and play with our dogs, and recycle our bottles and cans, and paint our bedrooms a new color, and make the extra effort at work, and weed our flower beds, and buy new tires when our cars start to lose traction, and take our in-laws out to dinner, and so on and so forth. And between all of those things, it's easy to see why so many of us who weren't even in the buildings looked shell-shocked and wondered why.

*~*

In the DC area today, the sky is that incredible blue that only happens when a hurricane has just passed over you. Believe me, I know. I've seen that sky after more hurricanes that I can recall.

Someone else is making me dinner tonight, and tomorrow night I am hosting a Supreme Court House Party for some like-minded friends because we're frankly a little scared to see who Our Fearless Leader has in mind for the next Supreme Court Justice. I don't know what our letter-writing campaign can do to affect his choice, but there will be snackies and Aaron Sorkin, so there's that.

*~*