new

old

write me

d*land

recent experiments:

shock and awe indeed. - 2:26 PM , Friday, Sept. 02, 2005

I grow old, but I prefer my trousers unrolled. - 9:30 AM , Monday, Aug. 22, 2005

it's all about the iPod - 10:00 AM , Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005

uncountable in showers of crimson rubies - 4:43 PM , Monday, Jul. 18, 2005

and I know it aches, and your heart it breaks... - 1:12 PM , Friday, Jul. 08, 2005

if you're this close, introduce yourself.

or, leave me a note.

Westbound and into the sun

Thursday, May. 20, 2004 ... 1:01 PM

Now Playing: Richard Shindell (duh, Barbie), Courier

*~**~**~**~**~**~**~**~*

So here's a question for the folkies out there: what does Richard Shindell mean when he says the following:

I set the timer and thought of you
Put the lens up to my head
I took a photograph for you
What comes out grey is really red

??

I've never been able to figure out what he's trying to say. What's red in the picture? Is this a naughty picture he took? Or is it something more� sinister?

Or did he just need something to rhyme with "head?"

*~*

Yeah, the Falconridge vibe is pretty strong already. Perhaps because I've missed a lot of local shows this spring.

*~*

Half of me wishes my HUSBAND [1] would go with me. He'll go to most any show [2] I ask him to, but 4 days on a grassy hill in the Berkshires is a bit beyond the limits of his interest in folk music, I suspect. The fact that he doesn�t express interest in going tells me everything I need to know. What he does express is concern about my safety at such an event. This gives me a chuckle because I think he pictures something like Woodstock 99 or the HFStival when I talk about festivals. I don't think he understands that this is probably the safest place on the east coast on that particular weekend. It's the one festival I've been to where a person would be safe walking around wearing nothing but strategically-taped twenty dollar bills.

*~*

The other half of me, though, likes having something that's just for me.

*~*

[1] yes, it still feels odd to say that.

[2] I don't ask when it comes to the Nields anymore, though. He falls squarely into the Nields-as-cacophony camp, where I am still in the Nields-as-quirky-euphony camp.