new

old

write me

d*land

recent experiments:

shock and awe indeed. - 2:26 PM , Friday, Sept. 02, 2005

I grow old, but I prefer my trousers unrolled. - 9:30 AM , Monday, Aug. 22, 2005

it's all about the iPod - 10:00 AM , Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005

uncountable in showers of crimson rubies - 4:43 PM , Monday, Jul. 18, 2005

and I know it aches, and your heart it breaks... - 1:12 PM , Friday, Jul. 08, 2005

if you're this close, introduce yourself.

or, leave me a note.

You start talking numbers and I just can't relate

Friday, Aug. 06, 2004 ... 1:44 PM

Now Playing: Christina Abbott, "Brother"

At least one day every summer, you awake to the miracle of being... slightly chilly in your tank top. This morning was one such miracle. It's only supposed to get to about 75 here today, which might be a bit much to ask, but whatever the high is, I'm blowin' out of work a little early to enjoy it. Tonight my honey and I are meeting friends at a minor-league baseball game complete with fireworks. How much more summery can you get?

I bought a bag of Jolly Rancher lollipops a few weeks ago, speaking of things that equal summer. I was addicted to Jolly Ranchers when I was a kid, right around that age where you first start having your own money and in the summer, you ride your bike over to the 5-and-10 and spend it on candy. My friends and I used to buy them in these thin planks which someone must have decided are a choking hazard, because they no longer exist. And they pretty much only came n 3 flavors� watermelon, cherry, and the mysterious "Fire," which also seems to be a thing of the past. I tried Fire once and it scared me. I mostly stuck to Watermelon, with the occasion al Cherry thrown in for variety.

Jolly Rancher watermelon stix were the flavor of my summer.

There might have been Green Apple then too, but I didn't do green candy then. Now there are more flavors and the reason I bought the bag was the new one advertised on the wrapper�Pink Lemonade. I dig lemon JRs now, so I knew I'd like pink lemonade too.

I brought a bag to Falcon Ridge and edited out the pink lemonade and cherry ones before I donated the bag To the General Good of The Campsite. But I didn't keep them ALL to myself. I shared them with Kat and Donna.

Everyone in that picture looks cute except me. Really, all of the people in the background too.

*~*

The Campsite is a living thing, and you must feed it. I brought various snackys to share with everyone, and they were well-received. Someone always brings some baked thing�cookies or brownies. This year, my favorite�blondie bars.

Things that happened at Falcon Ridge this year: my new tent didn't work right and Andrea's Paul helped me fix it. We actually had enough space for once. Vance Gilbert made fun of people. I missed my honey. The bagpiper woke me up. It rained like hell. Angie's tent collapsed. She handled it remarkably well. Mine stayed miraculously dry. People sang, more than we wanted them to. Other people sang, and we wanted more. Eddie got me ridiculously stoned, [1] and I couldn't hold up my end of a conversation with Julie and Shelly. The bagpiper woke me up. Julius fed us pancakes. I couldn't stop marveling at the gorgeousness of the weather. I ordered a Colorado wrap and got the last squirt of guacamole they had. Andrea's Paul yelled at me (not realizing it was me), and I yelled back. Shelly threw a party at The Campsite. The bagpiper woke me up, and I vowed to seek bitter vengeance against the bagpiper. It was hot. Donna was happy, and Donna was sad. I missed my honey some more, and made up my mind to miss Ellis Paul and Tracy Grammer rather than miss him any more. But then EFO and John Gorka and Girlyman rewarded me for my decision by giving me the best ending to my Falcon Ridge that I could possibly imagine.

The end.

*~*

Is there anything that Amazon.com doesn't sell now?

*~*

[1] So much so that I almost didn't like it. I'm really getting old.