new

old

write me

d*land

recent experiments:

shock and awe indeed. - 2:26 PM , Friday, Sept. 02, 2005

I grow old, but I prefer my trousers unrolled. - 9:30 AM , Monday, Aug. 22, 2005

it's all about the iPod - 10:00 AM , Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005

uncountable in showers of crimson rubies - 4:43 PM , Monday, Jul. 18, 2005

and I know it aches, and your heart it breaks... - 1:12 PM , Friday, Jul. 08, 2005

if you're this close, introduce yourself.

or, leave me a note.

I'm still giggling about how white Colin Powell sounds.

Monday, Nov. 15, 2004 ... 3:10 PM

Now Playing: Something about Colin Powell resigning.


*~*

When I was a kid, my mother despaired that I would never want to wear anything but jeans. Jeans were the uniform, whether they were faded, painstakingly ripped, distressed, or striped, they were what you wore. Period.

The fashion statement that today's youth seem to be shouting from the mountaintops is "I just came from the gym."

See, if I were speaking on the parlance of my generation, I'd have said "gym class," but this is not the kind of stuff we wore in gym class. And never mind that most of the kids in question have never seen the inside of the free weight room, or stepped onto an elliptical trainer. They�re hangin' out, chillin', cruisin'-- whatever the preferred slacking activity�in fancy high-tech sweatpants and $150 running shoes.

Or sometimes plaid flannel nightwear. But I think the pajama party look is on the way out.

*~*